2024 Election Dates

March 5, 2024 - Presidential Primary 

August 13, 2024 - Primary  

November 5, 2024 - General Election

2024 Special Election - Hennepin County District 6 Commissioner

April 30, 2024 - Special Primary

May 14, 2024 - Special Election

Local Elections

In Excelsior, elections for City Council are held every two years. The Mayor serves a two-year term and City Councilmembers serve four-year terms. Terms for City Councilmembers are staggered, with two members being elected every two years.

Candidate Filings

To search for candidates who have filed to run for office on Election Day, please visit the Secretary of State’s Candidate Filings, Election Division.

2022 Municipal Election Information

Filings for Mayor and City Council 

PositionNameAddressFiling DateReports Filed (Remove after 2024)
MayorPeter J. Hartwich186 George Street08/02/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
MayorDale Kurschner221 Third Street08/08/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
 (withdrew 08/11/2022)
MayorTodd R. Carlson634 Third Avenue08/09/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
City Council MemberJennifer Caron182 Third Street08/02/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
City Council MemberDale Kurschner221 Third Street08/08/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
(withdrew 08/18/2022)
City Council MemberJohn Beattie 198 Third Street08/16/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
(withdrew 08/18/2022)
City Council MemberJoan Maher905 Excelsior Boulevard08/16/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)
(withdrew 08/18/2022)
City Council MemberRob Tyler217 First Street08/16/2022Affidavit of Candidacy (PDF)

Reports Filed (Remove after 2024)

Election Districts

  • Congressional District: 03
  • County Commissioner District:06
  • Judicial District: 04
  • Minnesota House District: 33B
  • Minnesota State District: 33
  • Park District: Hennepin 4
  • School District: Minnetonka 276